NCCI’s 2017 Data Educational Program: A Personal View

Many of you have probably read my blog and notice that I sometimes refer to an organization called the National Council on Compensation Insurance or NCCI.

Back in the mid 1990’s, I worked there briefly, and also did a stint with a software vendor company reporting data to NCCI and independent state bureaus for workers’ compensation claims and policy data.

One of my blog readers told me about this year’s conference held in West Palm Beach and that we could me there. He came down from North Carolina yesterday, but left after the last class.

The program began on Tuesday, but I attended sessions starting on Wednesday. These are the classes I took:

  • Unit Statistical Data Editing and Correction
  • Medical Data Call Validation
  • Medical Data Collection Tool
  • Introduction to Unit Statistical Data Reporting (refresher course for me)
  • DCI Data Validation and Quality Issues
  • WCSTAT (Unit) Data File Submission and Processing
  • Unit Statistical Data-Premium Rating Programs and Exposures
  • Unit Statistical Data-Loss and Claim Conditions

Most of the classes were two hours long, with a fifteen minute break in between.

The classes were given by two presenters who rotated during the sessions, so that you did not get just one person’s knowledge and experience.

The participants ranged in age, but many were considerably younger than your humble writer. I had missed the 2oth anniversary reception Tuesday evening, but this was not really a social event, so it did not matter.

The technology I saw displayed this week was a far cry from what I worked with back in the 90’s, and is all web-based and very easy to learn. My impression from the information presented in all classes was that NCCI is taking a more customer-friendly approach to workers’ comp data reporting, which was something I found lacking back in the 90’s.

I know there are still areas of contention with some aspects of NCCI’s ratemaking role, as someone recently pointed out on LinkedIn regarding higher premiums for certain classification codes that are forcing small businesses out of business, but that is the exception and not the rule.

Overall, I felt it was worth it to attend, and I have gained a better appreciation for data reporting.

 

This entry was posted in Claims, Conferences, Insurance, NCCI, Workers' Comp, Workers' Compensation and tagged , , , , , , , on by .

About Transforming Workers' Comp

Have worked in the Insurance and Risk Management industry for more than thirty years in New York, Florida and Texas in the Claims and Risk Management spheres, primarily in Workers’ Compensation Claims, Auto No-Fault and Property & Casualty Claims Administration and Claims Management. Have experience in Risk and Insurance Business Analysis, Risk Management Information Systems, and Insurance Data Processing and Data Management. Received my Master’s in Health Administration (MHA) degree from Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton, Florida in December 2011. Received my Master of Arts (MA) degree in American History from New York University, and received my Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree in Liberal Arts (Political Science/History/Social Sciences) from SUNY Brockport. I have studied World History, Global Politics, and have a strong interest in the future of human civilization in all aspects; economic, political and social. I am looking for new opportunities that will utilize my previous experience and MHA degree. I am available for speaking engagements and am willing to travel. LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/richardkrasner Resume: https://www.box.com/s/z8rxcks6ix41m3ocvvep

Leave a Reply

