The Dog Days of Summer

Now that the temperature has climbed into triple digits in some places, and others are feeling the heat of 90 plus degree days, I thought it would be good just to let my readers know that I am still here, even though I have not been writing much as of late.

Maybe that is because of the sudden death of David De Paolo and the industry is coming to grips with his tragic loss, it may also be that not much is happening as this is now summer vacation season, and people are away from the business world.

This time has given me an opportunity to concentrate on more personal matters that are of immediate importance to my well-being, and to reconsider the direction of this blog.

I have a vision, a vision some of you share, and a vision many of you cannot see, but as there are vested interests who stand in the way of progress in one industry my vision relates to, and the other industry is fixated on the “how”, and not on “why not”, and is plagued with doubts about just how big it really is, economically, as has recently been reported.

But a vision is not enough if there are barriers and obstacles and negativity surrounding it to transform the way things currently are done. There has to be a recognition that hard work and determination and perseverance are necessary to break down those barriers and obstacles, and faith in the efficacy of the vision is needed to turn a negative into a positive.

So, therefore I have decided to write less about the vision, and more about what is happening in the industry and in healthcare in general that I feel my readers would like to see. It does not mean I have given up; it just means that until the forces of globalization break the legal and financial barriers and obstacles standing in the way of medical travel for workers’ comp, and the industry itself comes to realize that it must change or go quietly into that good night that automation and artificial intelligence are leading it to, there is no point in pounding it into closed minds.

As for those who seek my explanation of “how” this could be accomplished, you are forgetting that this is not something that is already happening. There is no blueprint, no guidelines for opening up a closed system like workers’ comp to the rest of the world. It takes partnerships and brainpower and commitment, not some get rich quick scheme.

Those of you who ply your trade in medical travel are looking for the quick fix, the easy way out, and the rapid turnover of patients to medical facilities. It is not happening in general healthcare, and it certainly is not happening in workers’ comp, and not without sweat equity on your part.

I’ve said my piece for more than three years, and no one has seriously taken me up on this, so that is also why I am changing course. Medical travel will happen one day, but it won’t take conferences and meaningless certifications from fast-buck artists to make it happen.

One last note, I too lost someone recently who was a dear friend and mentor in my career. We met here in Florida in the 90’s. He died suddenly of a massive stroke, according to his wife, who answered his cell phone when I called him near two weeks ago. I learned about it the same week David De Paolo died. They will be missed. David by the industry he loved, and my friend by me.

Have a safe summer.

 

This entry was posted in Globalization, Medical Tourism, Medical Travel, Workers' Comp, Workers' Compensation and tagged , , , , on by .

About Transforming Workers' Comp

Have worked in the Insurance and Risk Management industry for more than thirty years in New York, Florida and Texas in the Claims and Risk Management spheres, primarily in Workers’ Compensation Claims, Auto No-Fault and Property & Casualty Claims Administration and Claims Management. Have experience in Risk and Insurance Business Analysis, Risk Management Information Systems, and Insurance Data Processing and Data Management. Received my Master’s in Health Administration (MHA) degree from Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton, Florida in December 2011. Received my Master of Arts (MA) degree in American History from New York University, and received my Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree in Liberal Arts (Political Science/History/Social Sciences) from SUNY Brockport. I have studied World History, Global Politics, and have a strong interest in the future of human civilization in all aspects; economic, political and social. I am looking for new opportunities that will utilize my previous experience and MHA degree. I am available for speaking engagements and am willing to travel. LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/richardkrasner Resume: https://www.box.com/s/z8rxcks6ix41m3ocvvep

3 thoughts on “The Dog Days of Summer

  1. Transforming Workers' Comp Post author

    Peter, so am I. We seem to be going around in circles, no matter what the topic is. Opioids, opt-out, drug costs, and so on. Never anything that moves the industry forward or towards new ideas and ways of thinking. You have been good at discussing working immigrants and how automation and artificial intelligence will impact comp, but no one except myself has discussed what global trends are going to do to work comp. We all know about closed and open systems, and that closed systems tend to die out unless they change. But as more companies are bought by private equity firms, and vertical integration is achieved from receipt of claim by a TPA to the control of prescriptions by a PBM, the involvement of case management firms, and durable medical equipment firms that have been integrated to provide greater efficiency, but actually raise costs for those services, or may lead to limiting of services altogether, for the sake of higher ROI for the equity firm, things will only get worse. The direction I will go depends on the industry, and what I see in the future. I still want to transform it, but will wait until the rest of you catch up to the realization that globalization cannot be stopped by hundred year old comp laws that limit options for treatment, no matter how few claims require surgery. Forces are at work that may make travel more appealing and more necessary as shortages and costs increase.

    Like

    Reply
  2. dinajpadillagmailcom

    The world of workers comp has definitely been quieter since David De Paolo has left this earth. He’s going to be missed by injured workers very much.
    Our sympathies and prayers to David De Paolo’s family and God rest his soul. David was a good man.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

