Workers’ Comp Goes Federal: An Update

The other day, I wrote a post that said that state Medicaid programs will be able to recover all of the proceeds from a settlement that were expended on behalf of a beneficiary.

My reporting of MaryRose Reaston’s article garnered some very positive comments from some of my readers.

Yet, today, my fellow blogger Joe Paduda countered MaryRose’s article, and stated that “No, ACA has not ‘overstepped its bounds‘”.

According to Joe, the efforts by the states are just that, state-based, and they are allowed and enabled by federal legislation…separate and distinct from the ACA.

Joe cites an article written by Michael Stack, Principal of Amaxx LLC that summarizes Medicaid recovery in workers’ comp cases.

As Joe reports, Michael noted that the legislation that allows Medicaid to pursue settlements was part of the Medicare Secondary Payer Act, a part of the 2013 budget bill.

Normally, when I write about some issue someone else wrote about, I never have to provide my readers with an update that challenges the original author. Generally, my updates are just that, updates that add to the discussion. This is not the case here.

So just to be fair to everyone, I decided to correct the situation by writing a follow-up. I trust my readers will understand that I did not mean to mislead or take only one side.

Leave a Reply

