2014: That Was the Year That Was

As we approach the end of another full calendar year here at the Transforming Workers’ Comp blog, I want to take a look back at what kind of year it was, and what was accomplished, as well as what may lie ahead in the coming new year, a year that may be the beginning of a new dawn in Medical Tourism.

It was a year that saw me attend two medical tourism summits, and it was a year in which I finally met some of the people I have connected with since I began my interest in medical tourism, but had either never talk to, or met before. And it was a year that saw the passing of my father, who never thought I would go to the second summit, and did not live long enough to see me go. And it was a year of tremendous mental strain dealing with my mother’s illness as well

The year began with my article, NAFTA, Work Comp and Cross-Border Medical Care: A Legal View, which discussed a case that may have considerable impact on the expansion of cross-border health care under workers’ comp in the other border states between the US and Mexico.

Next, came a wonderful new year’s surprise some four weeks into the new year, when I was invited to attend and speak at a Medical Tourism summit to be held later that year in Reynosa, Mexico (more on that later).

The year got even better when my fellow blogger, Joe Paduda mentioned my name in one of his posts, which I reposted in my article, There Are No Words. It was very exciting to finally be recognized for my hard work and writing.

But there were the usual articles that went after the problems inherent in the workers’ comp system in the US that either had been discussed in previous years, or were new like the following articles:

Of ‘Aged Statutes and Old Case Law’ — Why Workers’ Comp Must Change

The Stench of Fraud: Why Workers’ Comp Can No Longer Be a Closed System

The Stench of Fraud, Continued

The Fiefdoms of Fools

And then there were some new avenues to explore, such as the demand for bundling of workers’ comp and health insurance, as well as a monkey-wrench that was thrown into the works when a Florida judge ruled the state’s workers’ comp system to be unconstitutional, and the update to that.

In early May, I attended the Costa Rican medical tourism summit that was held in Miami Beach. It was there that I met two people who I hope to be working with in the New Year, along with one of their employees on bringing the idea behind this blog to reality.

And lastly, as I mentioned above, I spoke and attended a medical tourism summit in Reynosa, Mexico, where I finally met the grand dame of medical tourism, Maria Todd, and many others, including another individual with whom I hope to work with in the near future. So in all, 2014 was a great year for me business-wise, not so good personally, for obvious reasons. But it ends on a hopeful note, so I wish you all a very Happy New Year.

This entry was posted in Cross-border Health Care, Medical Tourism, Medical Travel, Mexico, Workers' Comp, Workers' Compensation and tagged , , , , , on by .

About Transforming Workers' Comp

Have worked in the Insurance and Risk Management industry for more than thirty years in New York, Florida and Texas in the Claims and Risk Management spheres, primarily in Workers’ Compensation Claims, Auto No-Fault and Property & Casualty Claims Administration and Claims Management. Have experience in Risk and Insurance Business Analysis, Risk Management Information Systems, and Insurance Data Processing and Data Management. Received my Master’s in Health Administration (MHA) degree from Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton, Florida in December 2011. Received my Master of Arts (MA) degree in American History from New York University, and received my Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree in Liberal Arts (Political Science/History/Social Sciences) from SUNY Brockport. I have studied World History, Global Politics, and have a strong interest in the future of human civilization in all aspects; economic, political and social. I am looking for new opportunities that will utilize my previous experience and MHA degree. I am available for speaking engagements and am willing to travel. LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/richardkrasner Resume: https://www.box.com/s/z8rxcks6ix41m3ocvvep

Leave a Reply

