Veni, vidi, reliqui…or I came, I saw, I left

Julius Caesar once said, “Veni, vidi, vici”, which means, “I came, I saw, I conquered.” While my week in Mexico was not as world-shaking as Big Julie’s, it was eye-opening and informative.

First, let me state that our host did a wonderful job in preparing the conference center, the town of Reynosa, and the surrounding area for the 5th Medical Tourism and Wellness Business Summit in Mexico. We were greeted warmly, and they were very friendly to us, and gave us some lovely gifts, both in the hotel and in the hospital some of us visited on the last day of the conference.

We also visited some dental clinics in Nuevo Progreso, a town on the Rio Grande/Rio Bravo border, a half an hour or so east of Reynosa. Two of the dentists received their training in the US; one at Baylor, the other at Loma Linda in CA.

The fact that some of us did not speak Spanish was a drawback, but there was an interpreter who did his level best to translate the speakers into English from Spanish, and into Spanish from English.

I met many people from the US, Canada, Mexico, Argentina, and Colombia. Some were medical tourism facilitators, i.e., brokers, other were doctors, dentists, and business people. Some of them I already knew online and met for the first time, and two I did not know were attending.

The entertainment Wednesday and Thursday afternoon was very good, with one Tejano band made entirely of teenage and younger boys. Also, tried my first taste of tequilla. And my last.

I now have a clearer picture of the quality of medical care in northeastern Mexico, and if I am fortunate enough to be invited back again next year, will try to attend the next summit in Puerta Vallarta.

From the little I could get in translation, the Mexican government, the various medical tourism clusters, and the business community in Mexico all agreed that they need a national medical tourism strategy, and it is hoped that this Summit is a step in the right direction.

This entry was posted in Conferences, Cross-border Health Care, Dental Clinics, Hospitals, Medical Tourism, Medical Travel, Mexico and tagged , , , , , , , , on by .

About Transforming Workers' Comp

Have worked in the Insurance and Risk Management industry for more than thirty years in New York, Florida and Texas in the Claims and Risk Management spheres, primarily in Workers’ Compensation Claims, Auto No-Fault and Property & Casualty Claims Administration and Claims Management. Have experience in Risk and Insurance Business Analysis, Risk Management Information Systems, and Insurance Data Processing and Data Management. Received my Master’s in Health Administration (MHA) degree from Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton, Florida in December 2011. Received my Master of Arts (MA) degree in American History from New York University, and received my Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree in Liberal Arts (Political Science/History/Social Sciences) from SUNY Brockport. I have studied World History, Global Politics, and have a strong interest in the future of human civilization in all aspects; economic, political and social. I am looking for new opportunities that will utilize my previous experience and MHA degree. I am available for speaking engagements and am willing to travel. LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/richardkrasner Resume: https://www.box.com/s/z8rxcks6ix41m3ocvvep

Leave a Reply

