Looking Back on My First Six Months: Where I’ve been, where I am, and where I am going

Today marks six months since I started my blog on medical tourism and workers’ compensation. The purpose of my blog was to explore the possibility of realizing the implementation of medical tourism into the US workers’ compensation system, which was the subject of my white paper. My other reason for writing the blog was to attract the attention of potential employers and further my career in either industry, or who were willing to pursue the ideas I wrote about.

I have written on many topics related to both workers’ compensation and medical tourism, and have also written on topics specific to each separately. The topics I wrote about ranged from what I learned at the MTA Congress in October 2011 and why it matter to the workers’ compensation industry, employer/employee choice of physicians in workers’ compensation, the barriers to implementation (from my paper), how a self-insured employer could implement medical tourism for their self-insured work comp program, Mexico as a destination for medical tourism for Mexican-born, US workers, rising hospital costs, immigration reforms impact on both medical tourism and workers’ compensation, listing of several hospitals and clinics in Latin America and the Caribbean, and the opioid abuse problem in workers’ compensation, among many others.

The comments I received, have been on the main, positive and even enlightening, and some have been very complimentary of my writing and my mind. But the responses to my invitations to follow the blog, from both the medical tourism and workers’ compensation industries have been less than hoped for. To date, there are only 62 followers of my blog (63, if you count yours truly).

One thing I have learned, though, is that medical tourism is still in its infancy, and is still pretty much a cottage industry with lots of small companies and individuals competing for business. And as in any growing and nascent industry, it is bound to have its many problems and challenges, and medical tourism is no exception.

But I have also connected with a lot of great folks from around the world, in places I would love to visit, and have had many of my posts published on their websites or in online newsletters or blogs. This exposure too has not generated much interest, but I am grateful to all the people who have published my ideas, and count them as friends with a common interest.

I hope that in the next six months, my situation career-wise will change, and that my followers will increase. One of the drawbacks of writing this blog has been lack of revenue being generated from the blog, either in the form of a paycheck, in advertising revenue due to the platform I am using, or in speaking fees and travel expenses, but this too I hope will change.

I hope all of you who have read, followed, commented, or just visited my blog will continue to do so, and will provide me with your insights and ideas for more posts and more topics to explore. I am grateful for your continued support of my blog, and thank you very, very much for being a part of this experience. I have learned a lot about blogging and hope to learn much more in the next six months.

This entry was posted in Medical Tourism, Workers' Compensation and tagged , , , , on by .

About Transforming Workers' Comp

Have worked in the Insurance and Risk Management industry for more than thirty years in New York, Florida and Texas in the Claims and Risk Management spheres, primarily in Workers’ Compensation Claims, Auto No-Fault and Property & Casualty Claims Administration and Claims Management. Have experience in Risk and Insurance Business Analysis, Risk Management Information Systems, and Insurance Data Processing and Data Management. Received my Master’s in Health Administration (MHA) degree from Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton, Florida in December 2011. Received my Master of Arts (MA) degree in American History from New York University, and received my Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree in Liberal Arts (Political Science/History/Social Sciences) from SUNY Brockport. I have studied World History, Global Politics, and have a strong interest in the future of human civilization in all aspects; economic, political and social. I am looking for new opportunities that will utilize my previous experience and MHA degree. I am available for speaking engagements and am willing to travel. LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/richardkrasner Resume: https://www.box.com/s/z8rxcks6ix41m3ocvvep

Leave a Reply

